Beauty of Life

It was an ordinary Wednesday morning.

I was late for my 9 o’clock lecture.

Rummaging through my class register, I hurriedly wrote the date and started noting what Deepa ma’am (My microbiology teacher) was saying.

The lecture got over with and I grabbed my practical notebook.

I hadn’t written yesterday’s titration readings.

“Bhai, koi reading dedo apni!” (Could anyone give me their readings?)

I was super paranoid.

“Yeh kaise hoga!” (How will I complete this practical?)

Soon enough, the bell rang it was time for the Food Safety Practical.

I grabbed my lab coat as we had to pick up the mold samples we had left the previous day for observation.

*I know, college was a madhouse full of so much to do!*

I entered the mirco lab, to fetch the molds we had allowed to inoculate.

I picked up the perti dish but it petrified me.

I couldn’t believe what I saw.

I found myself staring at it.

It looked like this magnificent piece of art.

I was overawed.

It made me happy.

The fine white grainy boundary, the grass green like residue merging into a bottle green with streaks of yellow and circling into a dark lusturous green, xylindein pigmented wheel.

I have never seen something this neat and perfectly structured in my entire life.

It was beautiful.

Absolutely beautiful!

For the first time, I felt life, in all it’s forms is stunning.

Just spellbinding.

Everybody was like “Eww, that’s gross! Close the damn dish, it’s toxic!”

It’s such a tragedy that anything this beautiful is toxic.

A disease causing microbe.

What I feel looks beautiful might be someone’s biggest nightmare.

Well, it certainly infected me.

So much so that even 4 years, after I came across this question, I still carry it in my heart.

You’re beautiful Aspergillus.

NOTE[1] Chlorociboria aeruginascens and its close relative, Chlorociboria aeruginosa. It’s actually a very common fungus, although it is more common to see the green stained wood than to actually see the fruiting bodies.

They are members of the Ascomycota, belonging to the family Helotiaceae of the order Helotiales, which includes other cup fungi such as the yellow Bisporella citrina and the purple Ascocoryne sarcoides. The order Helotiales has inoperculate asci– this means that their asci (which bear the ascospores) do not open by a hinged lid called an operculum. The operculate cup fungi in the order Pezizales are much more well known and include morels, black tulip fungus, and various kinds of faerie cups, such as Microstoma floccosum, Aleuria aurantia, Sarcoscypha occidentalis, andGeopyxis carbonaria.

[2] Species of Aspergillus are important medically and commercially. Some species can cause infection in humans and other animals. Some infections found in animals have been studied for years, while other species found in animals have been described as new and specific to the investigated disease, and others have been known as names already in use for organisms such as saprophytes. More than 60 Aspergillus species are medically relevant pathogens.

For humans, a range of diseases such as infection to the external ear, skin lesions, and ulcers classed as mycetomas are found.

My apologies for the poor photo quality, it was taken 4 years ago with a poor camera.

Footnotes :

[1] Chlorociboria aeruginascens, the green stain fungus

[2] Aspergillus

6 comments

  1. Damn…I wonder how people study anything related to Biology ….to me its like studying an encyclopedia of tongue twisters 😛

    I like how u see beauty while others don’t …u observant I guess 🙂

    I assume its only me that I see an eyeball cornering an eye, in that snap 🙂

    Keep posting…love ur first love dearly 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

