DIY: Tom Riddle’s Diary

I feel like it has been ages since I posted a DIY!So today,I’ma get that “I’m creative” madness to use,here’s a DIY for Harry Potter fans out there(as long as they don’t use it for taking over the world).

I actually put my soul into it and I hope you guys like it! πŸ™‚

Things you’ll need :

1. A4 size blank sheets to make the pages.I’ve used exactly 50 sheets.

2.Fevicol or Mod podge

3.Black and Gold acrylic paints.

4.A large painting brush.

5.Brown wrapping paper.

6.Scissors

7.Cartridge sheet,any color.

8.A tea cup

9.Tea leaves

10.Water

Process :

How to make the pages :

Simply fold each sheet into halves and stalk them together.

1

2

Place a heavy object,ideally a book,and press the sheets together.

3

Apply a thick layer of fevicol or mod podge on the spine of the sheets to glue them together.

4

Apply more coats if needed and allow it to completely dry(I left it overnight).

5

How to color sheets to make them look old :

Tom Riddle’s Diary was very old,so I decided to make mine old looking and vintage as well.

So,all I did was dip tea leaves in half a cup of water and coated the sheets dipped in with a brush

678

Just be careful to avoid the spine from getting wet,as it may tear the whole diary apart.Allow it to air dry for about 5 hours.

10

Then take your cartridge sheet and start to glue on onto the pages like so,this makes the hard undercover for your diary.

11121314

How to make a leather look alike cover:

For the cover to look like leather,I did alot of research.Fortunately I was pretty happy with the final result.

What I did was,cut out a piece of wrapping paper sufficient to cover the bundle of pages.

I then coated the paper with black acrylic paint making sure that no part is left uncoated.

1516

After the paint dries,scrunch up the paper into a ball.Mash it as much as you like.Slowly open the paper and you’d notice the texture seems rough and a bit like snake skin.

1718

Next wrap a thin cloth or t-shirt on the paper and iron it on low setting.Then will flatten out the paper.

After the sheet has flattened,coat a thin layer of fevicol or mod podge,to bring a lustre to the cover.

2019

Cover your sheets of paper with your leather lookalike paper,like so.Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 22

23 24 25

Detailing :

26 27 28 29

30

IMG-20150712-WA0002

I had actually made it for my friend,so it has her name on it.I dipped a pencil in paint and wrote her name as neatly as I could.You can write who so ever’s name you wish to.

Desktop6

24 comments

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I found this during my hunt for something concerning this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so sorry to have missed your comment(I just found it in my ‘waiting for approval’ section)
      I’m super happy you feel this way about my blog.I just read somewhere , ‘Be who you needed in your life’.I’ve always craved for craft work and intellectual conversations(funny combination actually).Instead of waiting for someone to come along,I decided to become that person.And my blog made it happen for me.I cannot even describe how accomplished I feel reading comments such as yours.
      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

