Main apni favorite hoon! **

I remember how adorable I was as a child.

Uninhibited,bindaas(free of worries),funny and a happy kid.I was in love with it.

Who knew that the child in me would be murdered by the crafty minds striving just to bludgeon it to death?

For years I’ve been desperate to bring it back to life.I’ve failed a numerous number of times,having to pick myself up,more broken and more devastated each time.As a way to protect myself,I closed down,hiding behind this put up mask, lurking to find someone I could be myself with.

It was much later,I began to love myself again and now it’s my biggest power.No one has the strength to dissolve my spirit.Why?Because I trust myself.And no one can make me doubt it anymore.

As we grow up,we lose ourselves on the way.We develop a shield,a mask because of fear of taken advantage of.As hard as we try to find the best mask,we still search for acceptance of the real us.

But how many of us accept ourselves for who we are?People around the world are so dissatisfied and feel incomplete in themselves yet they lust for love. They rarely understand that they need to love themselves first.

What if I tell you,you don’t need someone to love you?

What if I tell you,you are special just the way you are?

What if I tell you,you don’t need someone’s acceptance?

What if I tell you,you can roam free,without a mask?

I wrote this piece,so somewhere,someone who doesn’t love himself might be inspired to remove that mask and embrace the ‘real’ them.

Lost And Found

geet-jab-we-met

I dropped dead the second my eyes caught that dress.

With flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,i wanted it so bad that I cannot even describe to you.

Jumping like a child,

I had gone wild.

With flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,I couldn’t wait to see how I looked.

My excitement could be controlled no longer,

“How do I look?”,I wondered.

With flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,I had no mirror to see it’s hues.

For years I wandered,”How do I look?”,

I wasn’t clear.

With flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,I kept searching like a fool.

A lot had been lost,in my quest,

At last I realized it wasn’t a waste.

With flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,I didn’t need a mirror I tell you.

For I was beautiful without the dress,I didn’t need its reflection to impress.

Without the flowers and pinks and yellows and blues,I could bloom.

Mirrors may be all I ever wanted,

But I found ‘me’ and that’s all that counted.

-Aditi Arora

Translation ** I am my favorite.

30 comments

  1. “Jab We Met” – Whoa! your post made me to stream for a scene on youtube in which Shahid Kapoor tells Kareena that all of the family members would search for them outside the bungalow, like at the public places, but no one would forage for them inside their own bungalow šŸ™‚ What do I mean, mankind tends to search for each and everything outside his own soul! And hence, we should learn to love ourselves! 6.5K upvotes from my side :p :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there beautiful! Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Totally loved this post.. Self acceptance is something even the best of us have struggled with, and I am definitely glad you don’t anymore..
    I hope many others find courage from this post of yours, as I have.

    Peace
    The Copper Chick

    P.S: Jab We Met is my fav movie as well! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t miss you blog now could I? šŸ˜‰
      absolutely..that’s why I wrote about it,Ikeep reading so much about people llooking for love but not loving themselves!
      Thanks a ton!
      JWM fans forever ā¤ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful post. These days, we are presented with perfect body (photoshop most of the time) and then people try to reach it whether that is through the makeup, reducing weight etc. In this process, they forget to be themselves and start to shred away their own identity. Maybe we can ‘make’ ourself ‘beautiful’ temporarily and gain praise from others but what about our own inner thoughts about ourselves? We have to love ourselves before we can expect others to love us. Wonderful and creative post, I love the title. Have a great day and take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

