Safety Pearl Choker

I’ve always had a weak spot for jewelry.

The work on different kinds of metal has always caught my attention. Every time I visit any other part of the country,I love to look around for interesting trinkets.

Sometimes,some pieces are just soo beautiful but soo out of my budget,it makes me really sad.

So I thought why not make some cool pieces of jewelry on my own,from easily available metals,which I can dress up or down according to how I like?

So in this series,I’ll be creating interesting necklaces,earrings and bracelets.

Most of these will be really easy and you’ll be the center of attention wherever you wear them!

The first piece in this series,is a necklace made of out safety pins!Trust me no one can even guess its safety pins!Most people who’ve seen it were stunned πŸ˜€

So lets get started!

Things you’ll need :

1.A bunch of safety pins of any size you’d like.The pins I’ve used are the biggest ones available. Ideally,the bigger,the better.Β I’ve used 16 pins for the entire choker.

IMG-20150811-WA0020

2.Beading pearls.Again the size is completely up to you.

IMG_1007

3.Beading wire.I had some at home from before.But you can purchase the wire from ebay.in

IMG_1010

Note :Make sure the holes in the pearls are big enough for the wire to go through.

4.An elastic string or a ribbon for tying the necklace around theΒ neck.Since the pearls I’ve used are white,my string is white as well.

IMG-20150811-WA0006IMG-20150811-WA0004

5. Fewiquick or superglue.Any tough hold glue works perfect.

IMG-20150811-WA0026

6.Nail clippers.

7.A pair of sharp scissors.

IMG-20150811-WA0003

8.A pencil.

9.And lastly, beads of your choice.In proportion to the pearls,these beads were 1/8 in diameter.

Process :

1.Grab the beading wire and start to string one pin and one pearl alternatively with all the pin openings facing in one direction*.There should be a pearl at both the ends.

IMG-20150811-WA0011

Note : Make sure to leave an inch of the string at both ends.

2.Do this till you feel the choker is sufficient to fill up your collar. I’ve used 16 pins and 17 pearls.My wire was small to accommodate all the pins ,so I made two lots and attached them Β by simply twisting the wires together.

IMG-20150811-WA0012 IMG-20150811-WA0015

3.After stringing in the pins,now you need to string in the ends of the pins as well to form a semi-circle.Simply,string the wire through the pins and twist the ends for the pins to converge.

IMG-20150811-WA0013

4.After the choker structure is ready,use the one inch string left out at both ends to give a provision for the elastic string/ribbon to be attached.Grab a pencil and spiral the end like so.You could apply fewiquick on the spirals ends to keep it from opening

.Β IMG-20150811-WA0008 IMG-20150811-WA0010

IMG-20150810-WA0006

5.You can leave it just like this.But as usual I decided to glam it up.I opened up the pins and inserted the silver beads in every pin*.First I thought it might look too jazzy,but it added just about the perfect amount of bling!It also helps in camouflaging the pins.

IMG-20150811-WA0001 IMG-20150811-WA0002

5.After your choker is ready,its time to attach the elastic/ribbon.

For the elastic string : Measure the length required for the choker to sit on your neck.Cut out the equivalent length plus an inch for any mistakes.Remember you need two pieces for attaching the two spirals.Put the string through,and glue it in the back like so.Repeat this for the other spiral.

IMG-20150811-WA0028 IMG-20150811-WA0030

IMG-20150811-WA0033

To make the end clasp follow the pictures below where a pin is at one end and a loop is made at the other.

IMG-20150811-WA0025 IMG-20150811-WA0027 IMG-20150811-WA0032

For the ribbon :The length of the ribbon should be longer than the elastic string as it needs tying to the back of your neck.Pull the ribbon through the spiral and glue it to the back.

And your choker is ready to turn heads!

This a very easy neck piece to construct and it can be a super cute gift for your gal pal πŸ™‚

Send me pictures if you ever decide to make this,I’d love to see how your pieces turned out!

❀ ❀ <3,

Aditi

IMG_1012 IMG_1013
IMG_1014 IMG_1015
21 comments

    • Mansi that is the nicest thing you could have said to me πŸ˜€ Why don’t you sign up,so whenever I make something that is on sale,you can be notified πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for visiting πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

